Book Now

Cape Town

Cape Town is the oldest city in South Africa, colloquially named the Mother City. It is the legislative capital of South Africa and primate city of the Western Cape province. The Parliament of South Africa sits in Cape Town. The other two capitals are located in Pretoria (the administrative capital) and Bloemfontein (the judicial capital). The city is known for its harbour, for its natural setting in the Cape Floristic Region, and for landmarks such as Table Mountain and Cape Point. It is one of the most multicultural cities in the world reflecting its role as a major destination for immigrants and expatriates to South Africa. Located on the shore of Table Bay, Cape Town, as the oldest urban area in South Africa, was developed by the Dutch East India Company (VOC) as a supply station for Dutch ships sailing to East Africa, India and the Far East. Jan van Riebeeck’s arrival in 1652 established Dutch Cape Colony, the first permanent European settlement in South Africa. Cape Town outgrew its original purpose as the first European outpost at the Castle of Good Hope becoming the economic and cultural hub of the Cape Colony. Until the Witwatersrand Gold Rush and the development of Johannesburg, Cape Town was the largest city in South Africa. Read more >
Journeys: Cape Town, African Collage, Dar es Salaam